The Western Virginia Workforce Development Board is a partnership of public and private sector organizations dedicated to achieving regional workforce and economic development goals. Serving the Blue Ridge region, Board members are made up of representatives from all eight (8) localities in the region, including the Counties of Alleghany, Botetourt, Craig, Franklin and Roanoke and the Cities of Covington, Roanoke and Salem. Members of the Board actively participate in strategic planning and implementation of local workforce initiatives and help drive the Blue Ridge regional workforce system to produce a qualified workforce to meet current and future job demand.

If you or someone you know is interested in becoming a Board member, please contact Morgan Romeo, the Executive Director of the Western Virginia Workforce Development Board offices, at (540) 562-8442 or by email at mromeo@vcwblueridge.com.

Related Links

View upcoming meetings by visiting our Meetings & Events page below.

View Meetings

Are you a new member to our board? Find helpful information below.

New Member Orientation

Phil Peters (Chair)
Vice President, Human Resources
Optical Cable Corporation
Business – Roanoke County

David Olsen (Vice-Chair)
Production Services Manager
WestRock – Low Moor Converting Plant
Business – Alleghany County

Casey Nicely (Treasurer)
Financial Services Manager
First Citizens Bank
Business – Botetourt County

Jeremy Adkins
Solution Matrix, Inc.
Business – Franklin County

Joseph Brinley
Business Development Representative
IBEW Local 26/JTAC
Labor Union/Apprenticeship

Michael Burnette
Director of Economic Development
Franklin County
Economic Development

Lea DeCosta
Program Manager
Roanoke Valley-Alleghany Region 5 Adult Education
Adult Education (Title II)

Michael Gardner
Woods Rogers, PLC
Business – Roanoke City

Wayne Griffin
Director, Human Resources
Integer Holdings
Business – Salem City

Crystal Hall
Resident Services Manager
Roanoke Redevelopment Housing Authority
Community Based Organization

Abby Hamilton
Interim CEO
United Way Roanoke Valley
Community Based Organization

Teresa Hammond
Executive Director
Alleghany Highlands Chamber of Commerce & Tourism
Business – Alleghany County

Dr. Milan Hayward
Vice President, Workforce Development Solutions
Virginia Western Community College
Community College

Shawn Hildebrand
Craig-Botetourt Electric Cooperative
Business – Craig County

Katherine Holcomb
Virginia Employment Commission
Wagner Peyser (Title III)

Bill Jones
Vice President
American National Bank
Business – Roanoke City

Debbie Lovelace
Senior Recruiter
Carilion Clinic
Business – Franklin County

Karen Michalski-Karney
Executive Director
Blue Ridge Independent Living Center
Community Based Organization

Tracy Nester
EVP, Human Resources & Safety
Lawrence Companies
Business – Botetourt County

Todd Putney
Vice President, Human Resources
Medical Facilities of America
Business – Roanoke County

Dr. John Rainone
Dabney S. Lancaster Community College
Community College

Amanda Rogers
Human Resources Manager
Wabtec Graham White
Business – Salem City

Chuck Simpson
CWA Local 2204
Labor Union

Jason Suhr
Director, Career and Technical Education
Roanoke County Public Schools
Career and Technical Education

Susan Watkins
Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services
Vocational Rehabilitation (Title IV)

Last updated 7/1/2019

Visit a Virginia Career Works Center


3601 Thirlane Road NW, Suite 2
Roanoke, VA 24019


106 North Maple Avenue
Covington, VA 24426


50 Claiborne Avenue
Rocky Mount, VA 24151


Want to become a board member? We would love to have you! Contact us below for additional information.

Contact Us